Ryandor.com

Forums
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 9:26 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Strange bug.
PostPosted: Sun Sep 07, 2008 3:46 am 
Offline
Young
Young

Joined: Sun Sep 07, 2008 3:36 am
Posts: 8
Ok here is my problem. I drew the map. I made the altitude map. Did nothing to altitude and went strait to compiling the map. So I should have a flat map with statics and transitions and everything right? Wrong. Well the main then that is wrong is I cant walk around unless I set my "CanSwim" prop to true. If it's false I fall through the tile and get stuck... So how do I fix that problem? Next on the list is some areas that I can walk around on without falling through have invisible things blocking my way or invisible ladders that take me high in the air and drop me. This is all just on normal grass without even changing the altitude. :shock: What can I do?! I spent hours perfecting my map and even went on to the altitude part just to find out that I will fall through the tiles and run into invisible walls everywhere! I need help from someone who knows their shit. Thank you all for any help...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Sep 07, 2008 4:02 am 
Offline
Grand Master
Grand Master

Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2003 8:54 am
Posts: 971
It sounds like your server is using different map files than your client.

Invisible walls and changes in elevation are usually because your server is using a different set of map files. You can't see the blocking items and elevation changes because your client isn't using the same maps that the server "sees" to compute elevation, items that block, etc.

Make sure both your server and your client are using the same map0.mul, statics0.mul, staidx0.mul.

_________________
-= HellRazor =-
Shattered Sosaria is coming!
http://www.shatteredsosaria.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Sep 07, 2008 3:12 pm 
Offline
Young
Young

Joined: Sun Sep 07, 2008 3:36 am
Posts: 8
[quote="HellRazor"]It sounds like your server is using different map files than your client.

Invisible walls and changes in elevation are usually because your server is using a different set of map files. You can't see the blocking items and elevation changes because your client isn't using the same maps that the server "sees" to compute elevation, items that block, etc.

Make sure both your server and your client are using the same map0.mul, statics0.mul, staidx0.mul.[/quote]


Aye sir... Thank you for the help. I will get back to you with the results...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Sep 07, 2008 6:04 pm 
Offline
Young
Young

Joined: Sun Sep 07, 2008 3:36 am
Posts: 8
Ok so here we go... It still doesn't work but all I did was change one thing. Here is the file I think your talking about... It's called datapath.cs


What should I do to this in order for it to link properly because it hasn't linked after the one thing I did (Which was add that link to my uo folder..)
=============================================================================================================================================

using System;
using System.IO;
using Microsoft.Win32;
using Server;

namespace Server.Misc
{
public class DataPath
{
/* If you have not installed Ultima Online,
* or wish the server to use a separate set of datafiles,
* change the 'CustomPath' value, example:
*
* private const string CustomPath = @"C:\Program Files\Ultima Online";
*/
private static string CustomPath = @"C:\Program Files\EA Games\Ultima Online Mondain's Legacy";

/* The following is a list of files which a required for proper execution:
*
* Multi.idx
* Multi.mul
* VerData.mul
* TileData.mul
* Map*.mul
* StaIdx*.mul
* Statics*.mul
* MapDif*.mul
* MapDifL*.mul
* StaDif*.mul
* StaDifL*.mul
* StaDifI*.mul
*/

public static void Configure()
{
string pathReg = GetExePath( "Ultima Online" );
string pathTD = GetExePath( "Ultima Online Third Dawn" ); //These refer to 2D & 3D, not the Third Dawn expansion

if ( CustomPath != null )
Core.DataDirectories.Add( CustomPath );

if ( pathReg != null )
Core.DataDirectories.Add( pathReg );

if ( pathTD != null )
Core.DataDirectories.Add( pathTD );

if ( Core.DataDirectories.Count == 0 )
{
Console.WriteLine( "Enter the Ultima Online directory:" );
Console.Write( "> " );

Core.DataDirectories.Add( Console.ReadLine() );
}
}

private static string GetExePath( string subName )
{
try
{
String keyString;

if( Core.Is64Bit )
keyString = @"SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Origin Worlds Online\{0}\1.0";
else
keyString = @"SOFTWARE\Origin Worlds Online\{0}\1.0";

using( RegistryKey key = Registry.LocalMachine.OpenSubKey( String.Format( keyString, subName ) ) )
{
if( key == null )
return null;

string v = key.GetValue( "ExePath" ) as string;

if( v == null || v.Length <= 0 )
return null;

if( !File.Exists( v ) )
return null;

v = Path.GetDirectoryName( v );

if( v == null )
return null;

return v;
}
}
catch
{
return null;
}
}
}
}


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 08, 2008 2:23 am 
Offline
Grand Master
Grand Master

Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2003 8:54 am
Posts: 971
Make sure your client is using the same files (or copies of the same files) that are in C:\Program Files\EA Games\Ultima Online Mondain's Legacy.

You can check to see where your client is loading its files from by running REGEDIT and checking this registry key:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE
SOFTWARE
ORIGIN WORLDS ONLINE
ULTIMA ONLINE
1.0

No matter where you run the client from, this entry in the registry is where the client will load its supporting files from. This directory needs to contain files that are the same versions as the ones being loaded by your server.

_________________
-= HellRazor =-
Shattered Sosaria is coming!
http://www.shatteredsosaria.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 08, 2008 4:10 am 
Offline
Young
Young

Joined: Sun Sep 07, 2008 3:36 am
Posts: 8
[quote="HellRazor"]Make sure your client is using the same files (or copies of the same files) that are in C:\Program Files\EA Games\Ultima Online Mondain's Legacy.

You can check to see where your client is loading its files from by running REGEDIT and checking this registry key:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE
SOFTWARE
ORIGIN WORLDS ONLINE
ULTIMA ONLINE
1.0

No matter where you run the client from, this entry in the registry is where the client will load its supporting files from. This directory needs to contain files that are the same versions as the ones being loaded by your server.[/quote]

Thank you for pointing that out... The only problem is that they all seem to be shooting me in the right direction. This leaves me two choices. Give up on this one and start a new one that is simpler or continue to wait for an answer and make a new one in the mean time...

Here is another piece of information I may not have added before. I may have picked the Trammel/fell map which is smaller than the mondains legacy map... This might be it I may have used the tram map I am testing a map using mondains legacy option and will get back with results.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 08, 2008 8:55 am 
Offline
Grand Master
Grand Master

Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2003 8:54 am
Posts: 971
If you're using a Mondain's Legacy client and your custom map is the old size, there is a utility in the files section here that will extend your map to the correct size.

http://www.ryandor.com/files/punt/3%20- ... 0Extender/

_________________
-= HellRazor =-
Shattered Sosaria is coming!
http://www.shatteredsosaria.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 08, 2008 7:30 pm 
Offline
Young
Young

Joined: Sun Sep 07, 2008 3:36 am
Posts: 8
I realized I am getting this error right at the end of compiling... "No tile import director was found" and then i hit ok and it's done. Could this be the problem?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 09, 2008 12:06 am 
Offline
Grand Master
Grand Master

Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2003 8:54 am
Posts: 971
Could be...I have never seen that error before.

Double check to make sure your server has all of the required files in datapath.cs. Maybe a missing tiledata.mul?

This really sounds like some problem with missing or incorrect .MUL files somewhere, either with your client or your server.

_________________
-= HellRazor =-
Shattered Sosaria is coming!
http://www.shatteredsosaria.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 09, 2008 6:44 am 
Offline
Young
Young

Joined: Sun Sep 07, 2008 3:36 am
Posts: 8
I figured out what to do to that cs file well atleast I think I did... Anyways the world went back to normal after what I set... The world is now the original again. Even after changing both map0 and map5....


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 09, 2008 8:07 am 
Offline
Grand Master
Grand Master

Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2003 8:54 am
Posts: 971
If you're not seeing your changes, your client is not using the files you changed.

What did you do that caused that error? You aren't making changes to mapdefinitions.cs are you?

_________________
-= HellRazor =-
Shattered Sosaria is coming!
http://www.shatteredsosaria.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 09, 2008 1:53 pm 
Offline
Young
Young

Joined: Sun Sep 07, 2008 3:36 am
Posts: 8
OK! so I got frustrated and started pasting my ML directory in every place that would take it in "datapath.cs" and it actually works so thank you for the advise it just took a while for me to get it.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 09, 2008 2:13 pm 
Offline
Young
Young

Joined: Sun Sep 07, 2008 3:36 am
Posts: 8
Just as I thought everything was going to be fine look what I find!

http://img387.imageshack.us/img387/7311 ... rm8.th.png


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 10, 2008 6:29 am 
Offline
Grand Master
Grand Master

Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2003 8:54 am
Posts: 971
Ok, thats a whole different issue. That is a problem with your custom map.

If you are using Map Generator 2, make sure you surround all the land with about 5-6 pixels of shallow water.

_________________
-= HellRazor =-
Shattered Sosaria is coming!
http://www.shatteredsosaria.com


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group