Ryandor.com

Forums
It is currently Sat Apr 27, 2024 1:07 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: new to modding
PostPosted: Wed Dec 21, 2005 6:12 am 
Hi all just like to say im glad to still see people out there still working on one of my old time favorite games.

Also I was wondering if anyone could answer a few questions. I am brand kinda new to modding and scripting for Ultima Servers, but i have an idea i would like to work on and it would require a brand new map, different races ex... Elves, Dwarves, Trolls, Orcs, and some others, I would like to be able to create new sprites and be able to see them on the "paper doll" (including new sprites for weapons and armor/jewlery).

Basically what i am asking is. What kind of tools to do i need to perform these tasks, where could i get them, and are their any tutorials that come with them?

Not sure if i plan on taking on this task just yet, but i would really like some informations pertaining to the questions above, and maybe if i like the answers i will make my descion.

So please help me out and let me know what i need thank you all very very much.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 21, 2005 9:34 am 
Peanut Gallery
Peanut Gallery

For map-making, you need a program to convert an image into a map, a program to tweak that map, and a program to freeze items from in game.

The most popular conversion program is Dragon, which you can find on this web site. You will also find some extensive tutorials on this site on how to use it, and most all questions relating to Dragon have already been asked and answered in the forums. Alternatives include punt's tool, and possibly UOL.

For tweaking the map, the most popular program is WorldForge. There are two versions, the classic version, and punt's new version by the same name. Either should work.

To freeze items, some emulators will do that for you, others have special tools, and WorldForge generally freezes items from the old version of UOX.

Post subject: