Ryandor.com

Forums
It is currently Thu Dec 03, 2020 8:00 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Mar 17, 2008 8:51 pm 
Offline
Young
Young

Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2008 8:43 pm
Posts: 12
Hey, I've made a small test map. Basically land, trees, and a mountain. Made the altitudes. Generated a map, but it wont load onto my RunUO server, or client. Ive read the tutorial on here about a quick start with map generator 2. But when I copy the files over as it suggests, the normal Trammel and felucca map loads up. I dont get it?

Thanks

Also 2 questions. The purple altitude setter for 'other' - what does do? whats it for?
Also, if I have a mountain, lets say im painting the altitude for it but i go over the mountain and paint some water or land with the mountain altitude... what happens?
Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 18, 2008 12:59 am 
Offline
Grand Master
Grand Master

Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2003 8:54 am
Posts: 970
Your custom map needs to go to 2 different places (which may be the same place).

First, it needs to be in your client directory. Second, it needs to be in the location you set in datapath.cs (if you didn't modify datapath.cs it should automatically read it from your client directory).

Make sure it is named correctly for the map you are replacing. Map0.mul, Statics0.mul, Staidx0.mul = Felucca.

As for the altitude colors - It doesn't matter, because those different terrain types for the altitude map are just to make it easier to tell what kind of terrain correlates to the altitude.

So if you just use a different type on the altitude map, nothing will happen because the only thing the altitude map does is...altitudes, not terrain type.

The different colors are more to help us figure out what we are looking at. The entire altitude map could be "Other" and it wouldn't matter, except that it would make it harder for you to tell where mountains are, etc. for fine tuning the altitude map because it would all be shades of purple.

Just remember, the altitude bitmap only does altitudes. It doesn't specify terrain. The terrain colorings are just to help you correlate the altitude bitmap to the terrain bitmap for fine tuning, etc.

_________________
-= HellRazor =-
Shattered Sosaria is coming!
http://www.shatteredsosaria.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 18, 2008 5:18 am 
Offline
Young
Young

Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2008 8:43 pm
Posts: 12
Thanks for the help HellRazor. Got it started.


Another question if you dont mind...
Is it possible to start making a map in RGP or something (using solid colours) and then changing to bmp later or will this cause errors? The reason I ask is that, lets say I draw a map by hand and want to go over it in photoshop, using a bmp format it cannot be in layers and having layers would be a great help.

Also, where can I find DragonMod11? I can only find DragonMod10.


Thanks again.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 18, 2008 8:49 am 
Offline
Grand Master
Grand Master

Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2003 8:54 am
Posts: 970
The main thing is that the final image must be an indexed bitmap, and the palette colors and order of colors in the index needs to match the setup for the program you are using. So it probably wouldn't be wise to start off with anything other than an index bitmap that has the palette set first.

I think Dragon Mod 11 is in the files section, http://www.ryandor.com/files . Dragon Mod 10 was never completed so I wouldn't use that. Most people seem to prefer Dragon Mod 9+.

_________________
-= HellRazor =-
Shattered Sosaria is coming!
http://www.shatteredsosaria.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 18, 2008 12:13 pm 
Offline
Young
Young

Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2008 8:43 pm
Posts: 12
Ok thanks. Coudlnt find dragon mod 11. It was a pallet for Gimp. If anyone has it please could they host it.

Question.

Lets say using map generator I creat the terrain I want, then make the altitudes. However, later I decide to change the terrain -
1) shape - do i have to generate new altitude.bmp and restart or can I continue
2) tiles - if i change snow to grass - do i have to generate a new altitude and restart or can i jsut continue?

Thanks. HellRazor your a great help.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 19, 2008 1:08 am 
Offline
Grand Master
Grand Master

Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2003 8:54 am
Posts: 970
If you change the shape of the land masses on your map, you will need to adjust altitudes on your altitude.bmp to match the new shape of the map. Especially in any areas that used to be land, but are now ocean. Otherwise you could end up with weird altitiude problems (like the ocean going from zplane 0 to whatever).

It can be difficult to make major adjustments after you've already put a lot of work into your altitude.bmp because you won't be able to see the land mass changes without starting over by generating a new altitude.bmp. (One workaround could be to generate a new altitude.bmp and then cut and paste the non-changed portions from the original altitude.bmp into the new one).

But generally speaking its a good idea to get the shape of your land masses down before you start on the altitude map, its just a lot easier that way.

For changing just the terrain type, you shouldn't need to make any adjustments to altitude.bmp unless you want to. For instance, if you changed a desert area into a mountain, maybe you'd want to adjust the altitude to make it more mountain-like. But if the change in terrain doesn't require any changes to altitude you shouldn't need to change anything.

_________________
-= HellRazor =-
Shattered Sosaria is coming!
http://www.shatteredsosaria.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 19, 2008 8:11 am 
Offline
Young
Young

Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2008 8:43 pm
Posts: 12
Thanks again. I'm looking forward to seeing your shard map. Sounds interesting =)


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group