Ryandor.com

Forums
It is currently Sat Oct 20, 2018 7:28 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 65 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3
Author Message
 Post subject: Help for dummies pls
PostPosted: Tue Aug 15, 2006 5:34 am 
Offline
Newb
Newb

Joined: Fri Apr 14, 2006 10:06 am
Posts: 1
Location: Vienna / Austria
Hello @ all

I use dragon to convert my bmp into mul. Now my problem is, that my mapsize is different from the usual one. I know that it has been described right in this thread but I'm an absolute dummie in such concerns... I didn't understand the tutorial. Is there anybody who could explain it to me in a really easy dummie way?
The bmp I use has the size: 6144 x 8629 pixels. (i use the map.0 file)

I have downloaded 010-Editor but now I don't know whicht numbers I have to change to get the map work rightly. I don't even know how to use this editor in the right way... of course i can open the clientcopy and search things... but so many numbers confuse me

It would be really great if someone has the patience to explain this to a dummie! :oops:

Thx


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 31, 2007 1:25 pm 
Offline
Apprentice
Apprentice

Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2005 2:56 pm
Posts: 20
Location: Russia
Hello!
I have a question about custom map sizes. When in hex editor, could you tell me which numbers exactly correspond to the map sizes of each map (Malas, Tokuno, Ilshenar, Felucca). And to what numbers do I have to replace them with to acquire a certain size (For example the size of map0.mul)?

Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 31, 2007 6:53 pm 
Offline
Journeyman
Journeyman

Joined: Sun Dec 29, 2002 4:27 am
Posts: 101
Location: New Zealand
It's hard to tell you exactly which numbers correspond to the map lines, because each new version OSI release shifts all of the lines around.

Basically what I said in the tutorial was, when using 010 Editor, run a single search for each map size number.

7168 (Map0 X)
4096 (Map0 Y)
7168 (Map1 X) - [Don't need to search for it, because it'll turn up with the first search]
4096 (Map1 Y) - [Don't need to search for it, because it'll turn up with the first search]
2304 (Map2 X)
1600 (Map2 Y)
2560 (Map3 X)
2048 (Map3 Y)

[Sorry, Tokuno isn't included in these numbers, but if you look at the picture, I've circled it]

When you have all those searched for, look around for all of the numbers you searched for clumped together.

http://img84.imageshack.us/my.php?image ... xes8hh.jpg

If you take a look at that picture, all of the circled numbers are the map x and y numbers.

You're looking for that sort of pattern. You won't find them in exactly the same place, as I mentioned earlier, each OSI client release will shift them around, most commonly down.

So hunt around for that pattern of numbers, and modify the ones you need.

If you need to modify the wrap points, then take a look at this image. This shows you what you are looking for within that same location that you found the map points.

http://img224.imageshack.us/my.php?imag ... xes0si.jpg

When you find them, you will see the pattern, It will go something like this...

[Think Hex]

MA PX 00 00 MA PY 00 00 WR PX 00 00 WR PY

MA PX = MapX Tiles
MA PY = MapY Tiles
WR PX = WrapX Tile Line
WR PY = WrapY Tile Line

WARNING: WRAPY SHOULD NEVER BE DIFFERENT THAN MAPY OR YOU WILL CAUSE ISSUES.

WARNING: WRAP X SHOULD NEVER BE LARGER THAN MAPX OR YOU WILL CAUSE ISSUES.

Then there'll be some garbage in between that map set, and the next map set. Once you find the next starting point, it'll follow the same pattern.

If you look down the left hand side of my images, and see the "Inspector" you'll notice that the one I have selected, is the exact number in tiles that Tokuno's MapY is.

So before you modify it, check that the numbers you've found A. Are the acual map sizes, and B. Follow the pattern I said above.

If it doesnt follow the...

[Think Hex again]

MA PX 00 00 MA PY 00 00 WR PX 00 00 WR PY

...Then chances are your looking in the wrong place.

Hope this helps. But without knowing your client version, and having that version myself, I can't tell you the exact line numbers you need to find this pattern.

At least if you learn how to find the pattern yourself, you can do it for any clients following on from that.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Grr
PostPosted: Wed Feb 07, 2007 3:01 pm 
Offline
Newb
Newb

Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2007 2:51 pm
Posts: 3
Hi, I'm just curious.. How can I get my map to be like circular, like if they are to walk so far off and reach the end of oneside they end up at the other. I know, the tutorial for map wrapping is there, but I can't quite achieve this effect.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 07, 2007 4:44 pm 
Offline
Journeyman
Journeyman

Joined: Sun Dec 29, 2002 4:27 am
Posts: 101
Location: New Zealand
What your describing is actually something to be implemented server-side.

The client side wrapping is just the continuation of tiles from that line to make it look like it keeps going. It doesnt actually allow you to keep going around the world.

If you went to the corner of a fully wrapped map, it would look like this on the map itself, (G = Grass, W = Water).

-----------------\
WWWWWWWW|
GGGWWWWW|
GGGGWWWW|
GGGGGWWW|
GGGGWWWW|
GGGWWWWW|

Looks a little shoddy I know, but the line indicates the end of the map. Now we add how it looks once wrapping takes effect (Remember, you can only see past the end-of-map line, you cant actually walk on it.

WWWWWWWWWWWW
WWWWWWWWWWWW
WWWWWWWWWWWW
WWWWWWWWWWWW
-----------------\WWWW
WWWWWWWW|WWWW
GGGWWWWW|WWWW
GGGGWWWW|WWWW
GGGGGWWW|WWWW
GGGGWWWW|WWWW
GGGWWWWW|WWWW

As you can see, it has extended the tile beyond the end of map, for your viewing purpose. It works with any tile, and is for looks only.

Any proper circular world would require server-side support added in. But even then, there are issues with that.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 03, 2007 5:30 pm 
Offline
Newb
Newb
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 07, 2003 2:38 pm
Posts: 4
Location: Montréal, Canada
Hi Bmzx007, nice tutorial :)

I think we used to work together with Rose on Sphere Dev team, am I wrong?

Editing the map sizes... shhish havent played the game in like 2 years ... never mind making my own shard... would of never though back then we could do this :)

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 22, 2007 2:34 pm 
Offline
Journeyman
Journeyman

Joined: Mon May 01, 2006 11:21 am
Posts: 78
hey guys did anyone ever come up with a patcher for this?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 27, 2007 4:46 pm 
Offline
Newb
Newb

Joined: Wed Oct 04, 2006 2:43 am
Posts: 1
Client 5.0.9.1 (Patch 46)

Use 010 Editor or other HEX programs (I'm recommend 010 Editor)

18 is 00|18|00|00 = 6144 of Size X
10 is 00|10|00|00 = 4096 of Size Y

HEX Lines:
Code:
// Client Map 0 Size X,Y (Global)
19:0610h : F0 18 5F 00 00 1C 00 00 00 10 00 00 00 14 00 00
ChangeVal: -- -- -- -- -- 18 -- -- -- -- -- -- -- 18 -- --

// Client Map 1 Size X,Y (Global)
19:0640h : E8 18 5F 00 00 1C 00 00 00 10 00 00 00 14 00 00
ChangeVal: -- -- -- -- -- 18 -- -- -- -- -- -- -- 18 -- --

// Client Map 2 Size X,Y (Global)
19:0640h : DC 18 5F 00 00 09 00 00 40 06 00 00 00 09 00 00
ChangeVal: -- -- -- -- -- 18 -- -- 00 10 -- -- -- 18 -- --
19:0650h : 40 06 00 00 22 00 00 00 21 00 00 00 00 1D 00 00
ChangeVal: 00 10 -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- --

// Client Map 3 Size X,Y (Global)
19:0640h : D4 18 5F 00 00 0A 00 00 00 08 00 00 00 0A 00 00
ChangeVal: -- -- -- -- -- 18 -- -- 00 10 -- -- -- 18 -- --
19:0650h : 00 08 00 00 29 00 00 00 28 00 00 00 00 1E 00 00
ChangeVal: -- 10 -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- --

// Client Map 4 Size X,Y (Global)
19:0640h : C4 18 5F 00 A8 05 00 00 A8 05 00 00 A8 05 00 00
ChangeVal: -- -- -- -- 00 18 -- -- 00 10 -- -- 00 18 -- --
19:0650h : A8 05 00 00 2E 00 00 00 2D 00 00 00 00 1F 00 00
ChangeVal: 00 10 -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- --

// Client Overview MiniMap Size X (For ALL MAPS)
B:4610h  : 00 00 00 33 C9 81 FA 00 14 00 00 8B 54 24 6C 0F
ChangeVal: -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- 18 -- -- -- -- -- -- --


if you try make longer of 6144, that you have small problems with Static Program of DragonMod 9-11 pack. This program "UO Static Patch -DRAGON SPECIAL EDITION V1.00.00" can not add statics over 6144 of size.[/quote]


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Nov 17, 2007 6:28 pm 
Offline
Young
Young

Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 4:03 pm
Posts: 8
Sorry to renew old thread, but:

Code:
Map Hex Locations as of Client 6.0.3.1
--------------------------------------

Felucca - Map0.mul
--------------
X = 19:0614h 00 1C (1C00 = 7168).
Y = 19:0618h 00 10 (1000 = 4096).
Wrap X = 19:061Ch 00 14 (1400 = 5120).
Wrap Y = 19:0620h 00 10 (1000 = 4096).

Trammel - Map1.mul
--------------
X = 19:0644h 00 1C (1C00 = 7168).
Y = 19:0648h 00 10 (1000 = 4096).
Wrap X = 19:064Ch 00 14 (1400 = 5120).
Wrap Y = 19:0650h 00 10 (1000 = 4096).

Illshenar - Map2.mul
----------------
X = 19:0674h 00 09 (0900 = 2304).
Y = 19:0678h 40 06 (0640 = 1600).
Wrap X = 19:067Ch 00 09 (0900 = 2304).
Wrap Y = 19:0680h 40 06 (0640 = 1600).

Malas - Map3.mul
------------
X = 19:06A4h 00 0A (0A00 = 2560).
Y = 19:06A8h 00 08 (0800 = 2048).
Wrap X = 19:06ACh 00 0A (0A00 = 2560).
Wrap Y = 19:06B0h 00 08 (0800 = 2048).

Tokuno - Map4.mul
-------------
X = 19:06D4h A8 05 (05A8 = 1448).
Y = 19:06D8h A8 05 (05A8 = 1448).
Wrap X = 19:06DCh A8 05 (05A8 = 1448).
Wrap Y = 19:06E0h A8 05 (05A8 = 1448).


Hope this helps?[/code]


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 10, 2008 8:05 am 
Offline
Newb
Newb

Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2008 6:38 am
Posts: 3
How do large map sizes affect the game's speed? I'm currently making a 10k x 10k size map, but I need to know if that size of a map will make the game laggy. Has anyone got any experience on playing with custom sized maps? I haven't got UO currently installed on this computer, so I can't test it out myself, at least right now.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 10, 2008 3:53 pm 
Offline
Journeyman
Journeyman

Joined: Mon Aug 14, 2006 11:51 am
Posts: 102
I'm currently building a 11,400 x 8,000 map for "Shattered Sosaria"

The client loads things up localy, not globaly, for the players... so lagg shouldn't be a problem... theoreticaly.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 08, 2008 7:01 am 
Offline
Grand Master
Grand Master

Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2003 8:54 am
Posts: 970
I've tested some pretty large custom maps and haven't found it to be a problem. As Pallandro indicated, the client loads the map in sections so the entire map isn't loaded into memory at any one time.

I've found the bigger problem to be with loading huge maps as bitmaps into your paint program. :) Takes a lot of memory.

_________________
-= HellRazor =-
Shattered Sosaria is coming!
http://www.shatteredsosaria.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 30, 2008 9:26 am 
Offline
Newb
Newb

Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2008 9:18 am
Posts: 2
Hi, I recently started working on a new shard with some friends of mine... we'd like to employ a custom map with one of the poles in the center and the other pole split in 4 slices at the 4 corners of the map.
The problem is, the map should all be made of land (not like the standard map with one or more big land masses with water all around) with one big lake in the middle where one of the two poles is.
We can't get the wrap to work... or to be more precise, you can see what's on the other side of the map but you can't get there like you can usually do by boat.
We tried changing the wrap points and map size in the client according to our map's dimension, but it doesn't work anyway.
Is there a way to fix this? I guessed that maybe the transition only works on a boat and not on foot, but this seems a little absurd... anyone experimented with wrap & teleport a little further? Can anyone explain to me a little bit more precisely how map wrap works and how I could make it work in a map surrounded by land?
Thanks for your support.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 30, 2008 1:26 pm 
Offline
Master
Master

Joined: Tue May 17, 2005 12:23 am
Posts: 278
Location: USA
Valce wrote:
Hi, I recently started working on a new shard with some friends of mine... we'd like to employ a custom map with one of the poles in the center and the other pole split in 4 slices at the 4 corners of the map.
The problem is, the map should all be made of land (not like the standard map with one or more big land masses with water all around) with one big lake in the middle where one of the two poles is.
We can't get the wrap to work... or to be more precise, you can see what's on the other side of the map but you can't get there like you can usually do by boat.
We tried changing the wrap points and map size in the client according to our map's dimension, but it doesn't work anyway.
Is there a way to fix this? I guessed that maybe the transition only works on a boat and not on foot, but this seems a little absurd... anyone experimented with wrap & teleport a little further? Can anyone explain to me a little bit more precisely how map wrap works and how I could make it work in a map surrounded by land?
Thanks for your support.


The brute force method would be to ring the map with teleporters, each pointing to the one on the opposite edge. I can see several problems with this (someone walking straight down the line of teleporters might cause issues), but it's a start... I think, though, that you're right and the wrapping behavior has been hard-coded for boats in the client and/or emulator. Depending on which emu you're using, you might be able to "fix" this?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 03, 2008 2:16 pm 
Offline
Newb
Newb

Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2008 9:18 am
Posts: 2
Spudz777 wrote:
Valce wrote:
Hi, I recently started working on a new shard with some friends of mine... we'd like to employ a custom map with one of the poles in the center and the other pole split in 4 slices at the 4 corners of the map.
The problem is, the map should all be made of land (not like the standard map with one or more big land masses with water all around) with one big lake in the middle where one of the two poles is.
We can't get the wrap to work... or to be more precise, you can see what's on the other side of the map but you can't get there like you can usually do by boat.
We tried changing the wrap points and map size in the client according to our map's dimension, but it doesn't work anyway.
Is there a way to fix this? I guessed that maybe the transition only works on a boat and not on foot, but this seems a little absurd... anyone experimented with wrap & teleport a little further? Can anyone explain to me a little bit more precisely how map wrap works and how I could make it work in a map surrounded by land?
Thanks for your support.


The brute force method would be to ring the map with teleporters, each pointing to the one on the opposite edge. I can see several problems with this (someone walking straight down the line of teleporters might cause issues), but it's a start... I think, though, that you're right and the wrapping behavior has been hard-coded for boats in the client and/or emulator. Depending on which emu you're using, you might be able to "fix" this?


Solved, we simply made a script for that. The emulator we are using is RunUO, with deep modifications to the core and all custom scripts. I foolishly thought this was handled by the client.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 65 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group